STP Urban Program

The New Haven Meriden urban area currently receives approximately $10 million federal dollars annually for highway improvement projects. The New Haven Meriden urban area, which is defined by the most recent U.S. census, consists of most of SCRCOG’s member municipalities, as well as Cheshire and portions of the Lower Connecticut River Valley Planning Region (primarily in the Old Saybrook area). It does not include Milford, which is funded through the Greater Bridgeport urban area.

These funds have in the past provided needed improvements for eligible roads in the South Central Region. The Region will establish regional priorities and work with the Connecticut Department of Transportation to advance a collaborative program for the use of the funds. This approach is essential for the advancement of appropriate projects to benefit the Region and wisely utilize the limited federal funding.