Hazard Mitigation

The South Central Regional Council of Governments Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP) for Bethany, Branford, Hamden, Madison, North Branford, North Haven, Orange, Wallingford, West Haven and Woodbridge received FEMA Approval on June 24, 2014.  The HMP planning process adhered to Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) standards and requirements for local hazard mitigation plans. The purpose of the HMP is to help reduce the South Central Region’s vulnerability to natural hazards and ease the burden of keeping communities safe and resilient. The HMP identifies hazard risks and mitigation actions to reduce or eliminate those risks. Through the Plan, the participating municipalities are eligible for FEMA mitigation program funding before and after potential natural disasters.The participating municipalities have been diligently working to advance or further evaluate their respective mitigations actions. SCRCOG has been advancing the regional mitigation actions by obtaining grant funding to advance resiliency efforts.

SCRCOG was awarded a FEMA Pre-Disaster Mitigation Grant to update the HMP, which will include the following additional communities in the region: East Haven, Guilford, Milford and New Haven.

South Central Region Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan Update Fact Sheet

Please take our public survey on hazard mitigation in your community

Floodplain Buyout Guide – UNC Institute for the Environment (UNC-IE) and the Environmental Law Institute (ELI)

Plan Documents

The 2014 South Central Region Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan is available for download below.

South Central Region Multi-Jurisdiction Hazard Mitigation Plan

Appendicies A – L                     Note: ~ 83 MB

Appendix M


No Accordion Found