Coastal Resilience

The South Central Regional Council of Governments (SCRCOG) has been selected by the U.S. Department of the Interior as a recipient of a $700,000 Hurricane Sandy Coastal Resiliency Competitive Grant.  The funding will allow SCRCOG in partnership with the Greater Bridgeport Regional Council (GBRC) and The Nature Conservancy to create a Regional Framework for Coastal Resilience in Southern Connecticut. Through this collaboration, there will be an assessment and advancement of opportunities to reduce risk from large-scale storm events, and increase the viability and resiliency of natural ecosystems along approximately thirty percent of Connecticut’s coastline.

The focus area will be ten coastal communities in South Central Connecticut. Seven of the communities, Milford, West Haven, New Haven, East Haven, Branford, Guilford, and Madison, are members of SCRCOG. Three coastal communities, Fairfield, Bridgeport, and Stratford, are members of GBRC. A map of the focus area is available here. The participating municipalities will integrate green infrastructure principles, prioritize projects, and contribute to a Regional Coastal Resiliency Plan.


The Legal, Policy, and Regulatory Assessment component of the project has been completed and is available here.

Story Map: Regional Framework for Coastal Resilience
Spring 2016 Project Brochure
June 25, 2014 SCRCOG Media Release
June 16, 2014 Hurricane Sandy Coastal Resiliency Competitive Grant Announcement
January 31, 2014 Proposed Project Narrative


April 23, 2015     Agenda     Minutes
August 31, 2015     Agenda     Minutes
November 19, 2015     Agenda